Showing posts with label Microsoft Office Word. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Microsoft Office Word. Show all posts

Monday, August 24, 2009

Word Tips - Upgrading Equation Editor for Word 2003 to MathType

MathType by Design Science is the powerful, full-featured version of Equation Editor. If you frequently include equations in your documents, you will find MathType is much better suited to your needs.

MathType is as easy to use as Equation Editor and has many extra features to help you work faster and create better-looking documents.

MathType includes:
  • Euclid™ font set with hundreds of additional math symbols.
  • New templates and symbols for geometry, chemistry and much more.
  • Professional color support.
  • Create equations for World Wide Web documents.
  • Translators that output equations to other languages such as TeX, AMS-TeX, LaTeX, MathML and custom languages.
  • Special commands for equation numbering, formatting, and converting Microsoft Word documents.
  • Customizable toolbars to hold hundreds of your most frequently used symbols, expressions and equations.
  • Customizable keyboard shortcuts.
  • A comprehensive printed user manual, loaded with tips and tutorials.
  • Much more…

Design Science continuously enhances MathType, implementing the latest technology to make equation writing easier and compatible with all your favorite software.

Visit MathType on the World Wide Web, or call Design Science to receive complete and current information about MathType.

Design Science, Inc.
(800) 827-0685 (United States and Canada only)
(562) 433-0685 (outside the United States and Canada)
(562) 433-6969 (fax)

E-mail: sales@mathtype.com

World Wide Web: http://www.mathtype.com/msee

- MRBAR

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Word Tips - Create Complex Equations in Office Applications

Creating complex formula is hard but things get easy with the equation builder in Microsoft Word.

Word 2007 users can easily find the function from Symbols group under the Insert tab.



You can click on the upper part of the Equation button to create your own equation or click the lower part to select any of the built-in equations.



You can also combine your equation with the built-in equations from the Equation button under Tools group in the Design tab.

For earlier Word version users, you will have to add the Equation Editor button onto any of your existing toolbars (you can create a new toolbar if you want to) or menus.
  1. From View menu, go to Toolbars and select Customize.
  2. Click Commands tab.
  3. Select Insert under Categories:.
  4. Drag the Equation Editor button found under Commands: into any toolbars.





  5. Close the Customize dialog box and now you can add your equation by clicking the Equation Editor button you've just added. You will see the Equation toolbar and an empty placeholder is ready to put your equation.



  6. Same for Word 2007 or earlier version, just click in the dotted boxes and replace with any symbol, number or alphabet you wish to use.
  7. Once complete, click anywhere outside of the equation placeholder.


    (Sample of equation... Do you think you can easily create this equation without the equation builder?)

You can also copy this equation into PowerPoint or Excel if you want to use the same equation in these applications.

- MRBAR

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Word Tips – Easiest Option to format a report using MS Word 2007

Normally user will spend more time to do formatting rather than focusing on the content. Here is how you can do it even faster….

Below is the sample report before formatting:-


Make sure the entire report is finalized already.

  1. Click anywhere within the report.
  2. From the Home tab, under Styles group, click on the Change Styles drop down arrow button – change the set of styles, colors and fonts (apply for the entire document).
  3. Point to Style Set and move over to see the live preview of each style from the drop down list.

Style Set Samples:-

  1. Distinctive


  2. Elegant


  3. Fancy


  4. Formal


  5. Manuscript


  6. Modern


  7. Simple


  8. Traditional

- Siti Suriani


Monday, July 20, 2009

Word Tips - Create Table of Content

Microsoft Word 2007 and earlier version has the feature of creating table of content from the title of each chapter or sub-chapter.

Before able to use the TOC feature, you must first format your titles to heading style:
  1. From your document, click anywhere in the chapter's title line.
  2. Select Heading 1 from Styles group in the Home Tab (for previous Word version, goto Format menu and then select Styles and Formatting. You'll see Styles and Formatting appears normally on the right side of the window).

Repeat the steps above for all titles that you've created. You can actually perform these steps as you are creating your document. This way will save time rather that searching the titles from beginning to the end of your completed document.

Select Heading 2 style for sub-topic's title (level 2). You 'll see Heading 3 style (for sub-sub-topic) will automatically appear after Heading 2 and more heading styles will appear when you choose the new heading style.

Once you've done applying the style, you can add a new page as your first page. This is important.... Use insert section brake and don't use page break so you can customise the page numbering for TOC and the contents separately.

  1. Select the new first page.
  2. Go to References tab and select Table of Contents from the Table of Contents group (for earlier version, go to Insert menu, hover on Reference and select Index and Table... and then select Table of Contents tab).



  3. Select one of the built-in TOC style or select Insert Table of Contents... if you want to display more that 3 levels of TOC by increasing the value in the Show levels (same for earlier version where you can see the Show level in the Table of Contents tab of the Index and Tables dialog box).

If you do any changes on the document's title(s) or move the chapter and its title, you can just update the TOC and it will change the writing and page number automatically.

Easiest way is to press Ctrl+A to select all and then press the F9 function key. You'll then have the option to update entire content or just the page number.

- MRBAR

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Word Tips - Mixing Potrait and Landscape Orientation in a Document

Sometimes we want to have table or diagram such as organisation chart to be layed out in landscape orientation in our Microsoft Word document. What most people will do is they either have these diagrams in a separate document that has been changed to landscape or they will use Microsoft Excel or PowerPoint and then print them separately. Some may take a screenshot of their diagram and then paste it in the Word document as picture. The picture will then be rotated to fit the potrait oriented page.

Don't use Page Break when you want to create a new page for the diagram. Things will be alot easier if you use Section Break. By using Section Break, you will be able to change the orientation for the new page without effecting previous pages that is in potrait orientation.

Follow the steps below:


  1. To create the new page for the diagram, go to Page Layout tab, Page Setup group (for earlier Word versions, go to Insert menu and select Breaks).
  2. Click Breaks button and select Next Page under Section Breaks.



    You will now have a new page.

  3. Click in the new page.
  4. Click the Orientation button in the Page Setup group and select Landscape (for earlier versions, go to File menu and select Page Setup. You'll then find Orientation under Margins tab).

Now your new page will have the landscape orientation while all pages before it is still in portrait. To have the following page to be in portrait orientation again, follow step 1 through 4 but choose Potrait in step 4.

- MRBAR

Word Tips - Getting the whole content of a paragraph in a same page

You may have faced problem where your paragraph is being split into different pages. Mostly people will just press Enter until the whole paragraph is pushed to the next page or some may use Ctrl+Enter (page break) but if there is any changes done later on any part above the paragraph (maybe on the previous page), the paragraph that was push to the next page may have to be adjusted again.

Instead of wasting time adjusting the paragraph again and again, you can set the paragraph to be in the following page automatically if it cannot fit the current page.

Here are the steps:
  1. Click anywhere inside the paragraph.
  2. From the Home Ribbon, click the dialog box launcher for Paragraph group (for earlier Word versions, go to Format menu and select Paragraph).
  3. On the Paragraph dialog box, go to the Line and Page Breaks tab.
  4. Click the check box for Keep lines together.
  5. Click OK.
The whole paragraph will be on the following page only if it cannot fit in the current page

- MRBAR

Thursday, July 9, 2009

Word Tips - Take advantage on AutoCorrect Options

If you noticed, most typing errors will be corrected automatically by your Microsoft Word application as you continue typing your document. For an instance, when you type "Teh", Microsoft Word will change it to "The". This is done by the AutoCorrect Option.

We can use the feature to help us to type long text such as our name, just by typing the initial.

This is how to do it...

  1. Go to Office Button and then click on Word Option. From Word Option dialog box, go to the Proofing page.
  2. Click the AutoCorrect Options button. Then you'll see the AutoCorrect Options dialog box (for earlier Word versions, go to Tools menu and select AutoCorrect Options).
  3. Under the Replace field, type your initial.
  4. Next, type your full name under the With field.



  5. Once done, click Add and then click OK button to close AutoCorrect Options dialog box and then click OK again to close the Word Option dialog box.

Now you can just type your initial and then when you press the space bar or enter, the initial you've just typed will automatically be replaced with your full name.

- MRBAR